top of page



The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. 

The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age

  2. Disability

  3. Gender reassignment

  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin

  5. Religion or belief

  6. Marriage or civil partnership

  7. Sex

  8. Sexual orientation

  9. Pregnancy and maternity


No form of discrimination is tolerated at  Captain Webb Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 

We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Captain Webb Primary School (see below).

Each year group also have a selection of books to support in the delivery of the nine Protected Characteristics.

Protected Characteristics - Content by year group.

Captain Webb Primary School Equality Policies

bottom of page